The center piece of the Kassel Dokfest is the film program, divided into three sections:


Up to 16 contemporary media installations and sculptures by up-and-coming as well as well-known artists will be presented at the exhibition Monitoring.

» More


The DokfestLounge is not only the location for audiovisual performances by international artists, VJs and DJs but also the nocturnal meeting point for our guests after 10.30 pm.

» More


The Workshop symposium interfiction offers lectures, presentations and workshop-sessions concerning a yearly changing topic, which takes a closer look at the political, social and artistic aspects of the medium internet.

» More


This educational side program is aimed at school students from the 7th till the 13th grade as well as teachers. The project consists of special film programs as well as workshops about film analysis and criticism under the guidance of media educators.

» More


The DokfestForum offers panels, lectures and screenings that raise questions about the interfaces between film and art. During the daytime the DokfestForum as a festival meeting point will provide a café with a video library for accredited guests.

» More


With the Hessian University Film Day, the presentation of a European Film College and hands-on workshops and lectures, the Kassel Dokfest offers possibilities for further education, information on education opportunities and access to professional networks for (Hessian) up-and-coming filmmakers.

» More

Golden Hercules

The competition for the „Golden Hercules“ is open to all formats and genres presentable on a big screen. Space-oriented works and internet projects cannot be taken into consideration. The prize is sponsored by the Machbar GmbH, an agency for corporate communication with its head office in Kassel, and endowed with...


Jury 2016

Clemens Camphausen

Bettina Fraschke

Wibke Jungmann

Zuniel Kim

Christoph Gabler

Nominees 2016

Feben Amara, Michael Gärtner, Amelie Jakubek, Malin Kuht, Inky Kutz, Paula Mierzowsky, Andara Shastika, (A GENDER OF AGENCY ), Joey Arand (Altern), Alma W. Bär (PINK CUTS PINK), Baoying Bilgeri (Bambustempelstrasse), Harald Bernstein, Frank Erftemeier, Axel Garbelmann, Caro Werner (Bringst Du mir was mit?), Tanja Böhme (Aletheia), Martina Bramkamp (wirrwarr), Xiuyuan Chen (Very Good), Sebastian Ebbing (Untitled), Filip Dippel (Der Bobblmoo), Ines Christine Geißer, Kirsten Carina Geißer (SPIRIT MOUNTAIN.), Evgenia Gostrer (Frankfurter Str. 99a), Theresa Grysczok, Eeva Ojanperä (Tracing Coyotes, a Dog Crosses My Way), Sevda Güler (Küçük Ayşe), Stephan Haberzettl (Das schwergeprüfte Gewissen), Olga Holzschuh (Autoluminescent), Holger Jenss (Last Chance Junction), Ferdinand Daniel Kowalke (Blue Brain), Malin Kuht ((insert your nipple here)), Florian Maubach (Der Flug der Maube), Jan Mensen (She Has A Cold, Cold Heart – Untitled), Annika Nesheim (Aufsicht), Welf Reinhart (Unterwasserpapa), Tobi Sauer (Simba in New York, Luftschloss (Über den Wolken)), Sita Scherer (Ruhe Frieden Sicherheit), Céline Schweda (1961), Helene Tragesser (Aggregat), Ippolit Vikhorev (LËXA), Lina Walde (Anyu oder wie Stálin seine Nase verlor), Arianna Waldner Bingemer (Kassel 9.12.), Christian Wittmoser (Emily Must Wait), Fritz Laszlo Weber (Making Waves,,, Unmastered), Daniel van Westen (Almost There), Maren Wiese (Sara), Clara Winter (ExplorerIn 2009), Zhang Zhifeng (No Signal), Elisabeth Zwimpfer (Ships Passing in the Night)



Award winners

2016 Christian Wittmoser: Emily Must Wait

2015 Zuniel Kim: Der Langstreckenläufer

2014 Martin Schmidt: Emil

2013 Benjamin Brix, Steffen Martin, Felix M. Ott.:EMPTYLANDS
2012 Jan Riesenbeck: Sixth Sense, Third Eye, Second Sight
2011 Dennis Stein-Schomburg: Andersartig
2010 Olaf Saumer: Suicide Club
2009 Thomas Majewski: Verborgen in Schnuttenbach
2008 Nico Sommer: Stiller Frühling
2007 Marta Malowanczyk: Marla
2006 Hyekung Jung: Drawing the Line
2005 Matthias Stockloew (Ütz): Grosse Kinder
2004 Héctor Jesús Gutiérrez Rodriguez: Ese es mi chama? Das ist mein Junge
2003 Salah Ahmed El Oulidi: Die Andalusische Nacht
2002 Christoph Steinau: Kommt alles Anders
2001 Holger Ernst: Kleine Fische

Foto: Michael Wolf / laif