The center piece of the Kassel Dokfest is the film program, divided into three sections:


Up to 16 contemporary media installations and sculptures by up-and-coming as well as well-known artists will be presented at the exhibition Monitoring.

» More


The DokfestLounge is not only the location for audiovisual performances by international artists, VJs and DJs but also the nocturnal meeting point for our guests after 10.30 pm.

» More


The Workshop symposium interfiction offers lectures, presentations and workshop-sessions concerning a yearly changing topic, which takes a closer look at the political, social and artistic aspects of the medium internet.

» More


This educational side program is aimed at school students from the 7th till the 13th grade as well as teachers. The project consists of special film programs as well as workshops about film analysis and criticism under the guidance of media educators.

» More


The DokfestForum offers panels, lectures and screenings that raise questions about the interfaces between film and art. During the daytime the DokfestForum as a festival meeting point will provide a café with a video library for accredited guests.

» More


With the Hessian University Film Day, the presentation of a European Film College and hands-on workshops and lectures, the Kassel Dokfest offers possibilities for further education, information on education opportunities and access to professional networks for (Hessian) up-and-coming filmmakers.

» More

Golden Key

The Kassel Documentary Film and Video Festival understands itself as lively forum for the presentation and discussion of documentary work. The extraordinary significance of the younger generation of filmmakers is underlined by the prize “The Golden Key” endowed with 5,000 €, sponsored by the City of Kassel for an outstanding...


Jury 2015

Zdeněk Blaha

Nicole Kandioler

Henner Koch

Leslie Tai

Luc-Carolin Ziemann

Nominees 2015

Lukas Augustin (Unversöhnt), Eliane Esther Bots (We Can‘t Come from Nothing), Teresa Czepiec (Superjednostka), Friederike Güssefeld (Wenn man sie bedauert können sie schlecht sterben), Mea de Jong (If Mama Ain’t Happy, Nobody’s Happy), Franziska Kabisch (Podium), Salomé Lamas (Le Boudin), Sasha Litvintseva (Immortality, home and elsewhere), Elisabeth Marjanovi Cronvall, Marta Dauliūtė (Krisdokument. En överlevnadsguide), Sami Mustafa (Trapped by Law), Sorayos Prapapan (Kong Fak Jak Switzerland), Isabelle Tollenaere (Battles), Heiko Volkmer (Buchbiografien), Philip Widmann (Fictitious Force), Eva Zornio (Le système miroir)

Award winners

2014 Leslie Tai: The Private Life of Fenfen

2013 Gabriel Serra: La parka
2012 Antoine Bourges: East Hastings Pharmacy
2011 Carmen Losmann: Work Hard - Play Hard
2010 Viera Cákanyová: Alda
2009 Thomas A. Østbye: Human
2008 Mario Hirasaka: Die Ryozanpaku
2007 Jess Feast: Cowboys & Communists
2006 Sarah Vanagt: Begin Began Begun
2005 Susanne Jaeger: Vater und Feind
2004 Alexandra Gulea: Die Daumendreher (GOD PLAYS SAX; THE DEVIL VIOLIN)
2003 Sandra Jakisch: 08/15 – Leben am Rand von Köln
2002 Klaus Stern: Andreas Baader- Der Staatsfeind