The center piece of the Kassel Dokfest is the film program, divided into three sections:


Up to 16 contemporary media installations and sculptures by up-and-coming as well as well-known artists will be presented at the exhibition Monitoring.

» More


The DokfestLounge is not only the location for audiovisual performances by international artists, VJs and DJs but also the nocturnal meeting point for our guests after 10.30 pm.

» More


The Workshop symposium interfiction offers lectures, presentations and workshop-sessions concerning a yearly changing topic, which takes a closer look at the political, social and artistic aspects of the medium internet.

» More


This educational side program is aimed at school students from the 7th till the 13th grade as well as teachers. The project consists of special film programs as well as workshops about film analysis and criticism under the guidance of media educators.

» More


The DokfestForum offers panels, lectures and screenings that raise questions about the interfaces between film and art. During the daytime the DokfestForum as a festival meeting point will provide a café with a video library for accredited guests.

» More


With the Hessian University Film Day, the presentation of a European Film College and hands-on workshops and lectures, the Kassel Dokfest offers possibilities for further education, information on education opportunities and access to professional networks for (Hessian) up-and-coming filmmakers.

» More

A38 – Production Grant Kassel-Halle

Stemming from a long cooperation, the Kassel Documentary Film and Video Festival and Werkleitz – Center for Media Art award the A38 – Production grant together. The up to two month scholarship is made possible through the commitment of the Regulatory Authority for Commercial Broadcasting in Hesse (LPR Hessen) and...


Jury 2012

Christian Klisan
Josephine Links
Ruth Annette Schriefers
Peter Zorn

Youth Jury 2012

Maximilian Gallo
Lea Guse
Karola Snethlage

Award winners

2012 Marc Schmidt: De Regels van Matthijs

2011 Léo Médard: Tao m'a dit…
2010 Kara Blake: The Delian Mode
2009 Hannes Lang: Leavenworth, WA
2008 Joanna Rytel: To Think Things You Don’t Want to
2007 Anne-Kristin Jahn: Generation Model
2006 Jürgen Brügger, Jörg Haaßengier: Kopfende Haßloch
2005 Curtis Burz: VIRGINia
2004 Britt Dunse: Norden
2003 Benny Nemerofsky Ramsay: Live to tell
2002 Oliver Husain: Q
2001 Florian Thalhofer: Korsakow Syndrom

Nominees 2012

Mareike Bernien, Kerstin Schroedinger (Red, She Said), Luise Donschen (Macht, dass mir inne wird, was ich durch Euch verloren habe!), Daniel Eisenberg (The Unstable Object), Raphaël Grisey (The Exchange of Perspectives is a Dangerous Game, Notes for a Future Film), Anna Hepp (Ich möchte lieber nicht), Daniel Kunle, Holger Lauinger (Wir könnten auch anders), Eva la Cour (The Tour), Rosa Lübbe (Die Beste Lage), Barbara Lubich (Come Together. Dresden und der 13. Februar), Nadja Verena Marcin (//KIDS//), Agnes Meyer-Brandis (The Moon Goose Colony), Agnieszka Polska (How the Work is Done), Jennifer Reeder (Tears Cannot Restore Her: Therefore, I Weep), Marc Schmidt (De Regels van Matthijs), Clarissa Thieme (The Place we Left), Maximilien Van Aertryck (Icebreakers)