The center piece of the Kassel Dokfest is the film program, divided into three sections:


The exhibition Monitoring shows contemporary media installations and other time-based media works by up-and-coming as well as well-known artists

» More


The DokfestLounge is not only the location for audiovisual performances by international artists, VJs and DJs but also the nocturnal meeting point for our guests after 10.30 pm.

» More


The Workshop symposium interfiction offers lectures, presentations and workshop-sessions concerning a yearly changing topic, which takes a closer look at the political, social and artistic aspects of the medium internet.

» More


The educational side program is aimed at school students from the 8th till the 13th grade as well as teachers. The project consists of special film programs as well as workshops about film analysis and criticism under the guidance of media educators.

» More


The artist talks, lectures and screenings of the DokfestForum raise questions about the interfaces between film and art.

» More


With the Hessian University Film Day, the presentation of a European Film College and hands-on workshops and lectures, the Kassel Dokfest offers possibilities for further education, information on education opportunities and access to professional networks for (Hessian) up-and-coming filmmakers.

» More

Golden Key

The Golden Key will award an outstanding documentary work of a young director not older than 35 at the time of completion the work. The City of Kassel supports the prize that is endowed with 5,000 €. The selection committees have selected 24 works out of the festival programme to be nominated for the Golden Key. Since 2017 the Golden Key is listed as official accepted competition of Germany’s national film funding (FFA). German films with a running time of 30 minutes or less are able to collect 5 Points for reference film funding with a nomination.

Jury 2017

Ognjen Glavoni

Kathrin Häger

Henner Koch

Maria Pesli

Peter Schernhuber

Nominees 2017

Esteban Rivera Ariza (Wisdom Teeth), Mareike Bernien, Alex Gerbaulet (Tiefenschärfe, Depth of Field), Ico Costa (Nyo Vweta Nafta), Aria Farajnezhad (Horn), Elsa Fauconnet (Acropolis Bye Bye), Johannes Frese (Titan), Riccardo Giacconi (Due, Two), Eva Hegge (Arrival of the Art Curator), Anna Hogg (The Pier [Like Mending Glass]), Leonhard Hollmann (Stiller Kamerad, Silent Comrade), Kerstin Honeit (my castle your castle), Juliane Jaschnow, Stefanie Schroeder (Die Wirkung des Geschützes auf Gewitterwolken, The Effect of Cannonry on Thunderclouds), Ziad Kalthoum (Taste of Cement), Belinda Kazeem-Kaminski (Unearthing. In Conversation), Sasha Litvintseva, Graeme Arnfield (Asbestos), Filip Antoni Malinowski (Guardians of the Earth),
Randa Maroufi (Stand-by Office), Yatri Niehaus (Stella Polaris Ulloriarsuaq), David Reiber Otalora (a continental feast for the eyes and the ears), Stefan Ramírez Pérez (As Much as Anyone), Anne Reijniers, Rob Jacobs (Échangeur, Junction), belit sağ (Ayhan
and Me), Antonello Scarpelli (Tarda estate, Late Summer), Lina Sieckmann, Miriam Gossing (One Hour Real)

Award winners

2017 Ziad Kalthoum: Taste of Cement

2016 Ognjen Glavonic: Dubina Dva

2015 Mea de Jong: If Mama Ain't Happy, Nobody's Happy

2014 Leslie Tai: The Private Life of Fenfen

2013 Gabriel Serra: La parka

2012 Antoine Bourges: East Hastings Pharmacy

2011 Carmen Losmann: Work Hard - Play Hard

2010 Viera Cákanyová: Alda

2009 Thomas A. Østbye: Human

2008 Mario Hirasaka: Die Ryozanpaku

2007 Jess Feast: Cowboys & Communists

2006 Sarah Vanagt: Begin Began Begun

2005 Susanne Jaeger: Vater und Feind

2004 Alexandra Gulea: Die Daumendreher (GOD PLAYS SAX; THE DEVIL VIOLIN)

2003 Sandra Jakisch: 08/15 – Leben am Rand von Köln

2002 Klaus Stern: Andreas Baader- Der Staatsfeind