The center piece of the Kassel Dokfest is the film program, divided into three sections:


The exhibition Monitoring shows contemporary media installations and other time-based media works by up-and-coming as well as well-known artists

» More


The DokfestLounge is not only the location for audiovisual performances by international artists, VJs and DJs but also the nocturnal meeting point for our guests after 10.30 pm.

» More


The Workshop symposium interfiction offers lectures, presentations and workshop-sessions concerning a yearly changing topic, which takes a closer look at the political, social and artistic aspects of the medium internet.

» More


The educational side program is aimed at school students from the 8th till the 13th grade as well as teachers. The project consists of special film programs as well as workshops about film analysis and criticism under the guidance of media educators.

» More


The artist talks, lectures and screenings of the DokfestForum raise questions about the interfaces between film and art.

» More


With the Hessian University Film Day, the presentation of a European Film College and hands-on workshops and lectures, the Kassel Dokfest offers possibilities for further education, information on education opportunities and access to professional networks for (Hessian) up-and-coming filmmakers.

» More

Golden Hercules

The competition for the „Golden Hercules“ is open to all formats and genres presentable on a big screen. Space-oriented works and internet projects cannot be taken into consideration. The prize is sponsored by the Machbar GmbH, an agency for corporate communication with its head office in Kassel, and endowed with 3,500 €. The following works can be admitted for the regional competition:

  • works whose director’s place of residence is in Northern Hesse or
  • works whose directors are enrolled in the University of Kassel, the Kassel College of Fine Arts or a comparable institution in Northern Hesse or
  • works that were realized and produced in Northern Hesse.

All works that meet at least one of the criteria above are automatically nominated for the “Golden Hercules”. The selected predominantly short works are shown in special compilation programs as well as part of the regular program.

Jury 2017

Clemens Camphausen

Bettina Fraschke

Michael Jonke

Wibke Jungmann

Christian Wittmoser


Nominees 2017

Heikki Ahola (Sex at the Ski Center), Joey Arand (Gebär_Mütter), Joscha Bongard (Nostalgic Love), Daniel von Bothmer (Die Fotzy-Biene, The Pussy-Bee), Karl Brunnengräber (Ibrahim Mahama, Maria Hassabi: Staging, Cecilia Vicuña, 1 Meter pro Sekunde ohne Lucius Burckhardt, Anton Kats), Helena Buttgereit, Melina Werner (Marta Minujin), Thea Drechsler (Welcome to the Expats), Brigit Edelmann (La cinquième planète_un allumeur de réverbères, The Fifth Planet_a Lamplighter), Michael Gärtner, Milan Soremski (documenta 14 entýposis), Annika Glass, Miguel Wysocki (Split Time), Johanna Groß (Olaf Holzapfel), Holger Jenss (Rainer Oldendorf), Seungkyu Jung (Manipulation 18.05.), Ferdinand Kowalke (goprxxxx), Till Krüger (Guillermo Galindo: Sonic Exodus),
Till Krüger, Daniel Hellwig (Joar Nango: European Everything, Pope.L: Whispering Campaign), Till Krüger, Julia Allnoch (Marina Gioti), Alexandra Leibmann (Paralanguage), Aya Limbacher (Manifest), Zuyen Lin-Woywod, Wen Hsaun Chang, Hannah Windisch, Isabella Artadi, Thea Josepha Konatsu Drechsler (Daily Notes), Florian Maubach (Räuber & Gendarm, Robbers vs. Cops), Alejandra Montoya (Impermanence of Being), Lucie Friederike Mueller (Arms), Alexandra Münzner, Bahiyyeh Panahi, Malika Salama (Georgia Sagri), Kerstin Rupprecht (Black with a Luminous Edge), Malika Salama (Lala Meredith-Vula, Angelo Plessas), Malika Salama, Bahiyyeh Panahi (Mattin: Social Dissonance), Malika Salama, Sita Scherer (Gernot Minke), Tobi Sauer (Ben Russel, Jonas Mekas, Wang Bing), Sita Scherer (Mary Zygouri), Jonatan Schwenk (Sog), Wenti Sheng (Dressur), Ulf Staeger (Modern Face), Rike Suhr (Hairness), Karolin Twiddy (Manly Mountain of Men), Catrine Val (An Ode to Vaginismus), Stefan Vogt (Gott kommt – Evolutio, Gott kommt – Fractura), Alma Weber (Obvious), Clara Winter, Miguel Ferráez (Poor People Relax Me), Cilian X. Woywod (Let‘s play: Manchild Ep. 1 „love you mama“), Pablo Zinser, Dorothee Hase (Parallel Lives)



Award winners

2017 Jonatan Schwenk: Sog

2016 Christian Wittmoser: Emily Must Wait

2015 Zuniel Kim: Der Langstreckenläufer

2014 Martin Schmidt: Emil

2013 Benjamin Brix, Steffen Martin, Felix M. Ott.:EMPTYLANDS

2012 Jan Riesenbeck: Sixth Sense, Third Eye, Second Sight

2011 Dennis Stein-Schomburg: Andersartig

2010 Olaf Saumer: Suicide Club

2009 Thomas Majewski: Verborgen in Schnuttenbach

2008 Nico Sommer: Stiller Frühling

2007 Marta Malowanczyk: Marla

2006 Hyekung Jung: Drawing the Line

2005 Matthias Stockloew (Ütz): Grosse Kinder

2004 Héctor Jesús Gutiérrez Rodriguez: Ese es mi chama? Das ist mein Junge

2003 Salah Ahmed El Oulidi: Die Andalusische Nacht

2002 Christoph Steinau: Kommt alles Anders

2001 Holger Ernst: Kleine Fische